Gå til hovedindhold

Residents 2019

Aarhus Center for Visual Art has selected curator Ceci Moss (US) and artist Mona Aghababaee (IR) to participate in AaBKC Residency in 2019.

Spring 2019 Curator-in-Residence: Ceci Moss (US)

Ceci Moss

Ceci Moss is a curator, writer and educator based in Los Angeles. She is the founder and director of Gas, a mobile, autonomous, experimental and networked platform for contemporary art located in a truck gallery and online. She has a MA and PhD in Comparative Literature from New York University, and a BA in History and Sociology from U.C. Berkeley. Her academic research addresses contemporary internet-based art practice and network culture. Her first book Expanded Internet Art: Twenty-First Century Artistic Practice and the Informational Milieu is forthcoming on the Bloomsbury series International Texts in Critical Media Aesthetics. She is currently a Visiting Lecturer at Scripps College and she has held teaching positions at the San Francisco Art Institute and New York University. Her writing has appeared in Rhizome, Art in America, ArtAsiaPacific, Artforum, The Wire, CURA, New Media & Society and various art catalogs.

For over a decade, Moss worked in non-profit arts organizations in various curatorial, editorial and fundraising capacities. Previously, she was Assistant Curator of Visual Arts at Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, the Senior Editor of the art and technology non-profit arts organization Rhizome, and Special Projects Coordinator at the New Museum of Contemporary Art. Her wide-ranging curatorial projects encompass numerous exhibitions (both solo and group shows), public art commissions, public programs and publications. Highlights include the touring group exhibit Alien She co-curated with Astria Suparak on the influence of the punk feminist movement Riot Grrrl, the group show Office Space presenting works that subverted office design, the triennial Bay Area Now, a large scale public art installation with Kota Ezawa, and several solo exhibitions involving new commissions for artists such as Samara Golden, Shana Moulton, Metahaven, Nate Boyce and Jacqueline Kiyomi Gordon. Her curatorial projects have received praise from The New York Times, Artforum, The Huffington Post, LA Weekly, Flash Art, Fast Company, The Wire, and Creator’s Project.


Fall 2019 Artist-in-Residence: Mona Aghababaee (IR)

Mona Aghababaee

Mona Aghababee (b.1982, Esfahan) is an interdisciplinary artist who lives and works in Esfahan, Iran. Working primarily in sculpture and installation, Mona’s practice forms a continual dialogue with everyday objects and their relation to the body. Her current research focuses on the social and political potential of sculpture.

She received her BA and MA in applied art from Art University of Tehran, Iran. Mona’s works have been exhibited widely in Iran, Turkey, Germany, Poland, Belgium, Sweden, Russia, Sweden, US, Estonia and Australia, where she received the Damon Courtney Memorial Young Sculpture Prize from Sculpture by the Sea festival in 2009. Mona participated in the sixth and seventh National Sculpture Biennial of Tehran in 2011 (Niavaran Cultural Center) and 2017 (Contemporary Art Museum of Tehran) and also in the second, third and fifth Urban Sculpture Biennial of Tehran in Barg Gallery in 2010, 2012 and 2016, where she was awarded the first prize in the Fifth Urban Sculpture Biennial in 2016. She has received several full residency fellowships from the Sculpture Center residency in Utica (US, 2012), MacDowell colony in Peterborough (US, 2014), Headlands Art Center in San Francisco (US, 2016), ACC studio program in Weimar (GR, 2017), Beirut Art Residency (LB, 2019) and AaBKC Residency in Aarhus (DK, 2019).

Mona is co-founder and co-director of Va Space for Contemporary Art in Esfahan. Va hosts national and international artists, critics and writers to engage with the local community in a creative and artistic atmosphere.


AaBKC Residency er støttet af Det Obelske Familiefond og Tækker Group/Tækker Fonden.
AaBKC Residency is supported by Det Obelske Familiefond and Tækker Group/Tækker Fonden.

Det Obelske Familiefond